What You Gonna Spend Your Free Life On?

Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

Lately I’ve been contemplating life and love, what it all means and why we’re each given different experiences. Well this morning a song popped up on my playlist just in time for a new post. I definitely believe that I have angels looking out for me.

Anyway, as I was listening to Free Life by Dan Wilson, I began to be ok with not having all of the answers and with nothing making any sense. Sometimes you just need to enjoy the journey and let everything unfold along the way. Life is funny like that. The opening of the song got me thinking about that.

Let’s take a little trip down where we used to go
It’s way beyond the strip, a place they call your soul
We’ll sit down for a while and let the evening roll
Don’t worry about the time, we’ll find a place to stay

It’s not always easy to sit back, relax and to just let the answers come in due time. As human beings we want all of our answers as soon as the questions develop. It’s just in our nature. But if we can learn to trust and to allow our spiritual nature to be more in control, then I can say for certain that it is so much more peaceful and a much more enjoyable way to live your life. We’re only given one life so shouldn’t we enjoy it and make it count?

Life was meant to be a learning experience as well as enjoyed. What would the purpose of life be if we already had all of the answers? Would there be any need to learn, progress, and develop as a person? Not all of life’s experiences will be enjoyable. I know that from personal experience, but you can still find blessings along the way. I don’t regret any of my failed relationships or hard times that I’ve had to go through. All of those experiences developed me as a person and answers to all of my questions were revealed over time. The next part of the song really got me reflecting on passed experiences as well as new ones.

And in the air the questions hang
Will we get to do something?
Who we gonna end up being?
How we gonna end up feeling?
What you gonna spend your free life on?

There is no way to know for sure what direction life will take you or what will happen along the way. However, you do have control over how you respond or let certain experiences affect you. Sometimes you just need to let whatever is going to happen just happen and make sense of it along the way. I firmly believe that whatever is meant to be will be and if it’s not, you’ll be lead in a new direction. I was thinking a lot about this, which is probably why the next part of the song spoke to me so loudly.

Let’s fall in love again with music as our guide
We’ll raise our ready hands and let go for the ride
Down into unknown lands where lovers need and hide


We got these lives for free, we don’t know where they’ve been
We don’t know where they’ll go when we are through with them
A starlight of the sun, the dark side of the moon

I obviously loved the “music as our guide” part, but this entire part of the song seemed to be a message of not allowing fear, doubt, or the memory of a bad experience hold you back from experiencing new ones, however they are meant to work out or not work out. As I’ve said before, it’s so much easier said than done but if we can all make a habit of just enjoying the here and now and letting answers unveil themselves along the way, then our minds we’ll be so much more clear and at peace. When we’re at peace and our minds are clear answers seem so much more obvious.

I can’t imagine that anyone actually wants to spend their life worrying or living in fear and doubt. So it’s up to you. What you gonna spend your free life on? 😏

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=IceWvxaqMpk

Leave a comment